Date/Time
Date(s) - 19/06/2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Categories


Join the JLI Mobilisation Hub at 9am ET, (1pm GMT/2pm UK) with Dr Emma Tomalin (Leeds University), Dr Jörg Haustein (SOAS) and Elizabeth Garland (Salvation Army) for a discussion on the role of religions in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

 

 

The webinar recording will be available shortly

If you have any follow up questions, please feel free to email [email protected]

Relevant Resources:

About the speakers:

  • Dr Jörg Haustein is Senior Lecturer in Religions in Africa at SOAS with a focus on Christianity and Islam. He has a special interest in the historical intersection of religion and development in colonial and post-colonial Africa and its effects on the present. Jörg Haustein is Co-Investigator of the AHRC-funded research network ‘Keeping Faith in 2030: Religions and the Sustainable Development Goals’.

 

  • Major (Dr) Elizabeth Garland is Impact Measurement Learning Coordinator and International Statistician at The Salvation Army International Headquarters. Major (Dr) Garland has worked in a number of settings within the Salvation Army in both Australia and overseas. Overseas appointments include Ghana, Zimbabwe and Southern Africa. Whilst overseas, Major Garland completed further degrees in health, including a Master of Primary Health Care and Master of Health and International development (Flinders University Australia). Major Garland completed and was conferred a Doctorate of Public Health (Flinders University Australia) in 2015.Currently Major (Dr) Garland is working at the International Headquarters of the Salvation Army in London as the Impact Measurement Learning Co-Ordinator and International Statistician. Part of this work is developing ways of measuring The Salvation Army’s work and ministries across the world. This work includes how we measure the Salvation Army’s programmes and activities in relation to the Sustainable Development Goals.